BDMovers’s Blog


New Jersey Movers Diary

The other day I had an astonishing range of estimates for my company

My first estimate was for a senior moving from the Jersey Shore to be with her daughter in Pennsylvania, both of them were a little (a lot) overwhelmed with the move. Mom had acquired quite a lot of stuff and was hesitant about getting ride of any of it. Thank god the daughters were involved or this would be a fiasco.

A Senior move in Tuckerton NJ

My next client was moving from Toms River into an assisted living facility, for her we will do all the packing along with the move.  Her arthritis has gotten so bad she is starting to need help with cooking and she lives alone. I am constantly amazed at the strength some people show when things are rough. I hope I have the same grace as I get older.

Commercial stove to be moved

From there I went to the Seaside Park area of the Jersey Shore to estimate moving a restaurant. The summer did not pan out quite like they had hoped and they were moving everything into storage, moving all the tables, chairs,  the stoves, ovens and refrigerators. Commercial equipment is much larger and heavier than a household move, so we bring special dollies and hand trucks. I measure the doors to see if any need to come off.  We discuss who is disconnecting the gas and water connections. Often we suggest a bug bomb at storage “just in case”. This looks pretty clean and I expect no problems.

A prior client has called me to give their synagogue an estimate. Everyone is quite excited to be moving into the new place.  There will be a ceremony where they symbolically walk from one to the other carrying the religious scrolls.  We  will move the school and offices. I will be on this job! I already picked up a Mezuzah for them.

Moving on Long Beach Island

My next estimate is a re-estimate. My client has called and is concerned that everything may not fit into his self storage, “could I come out and look one more time”?  I always walk through the house as if I had never been there before so I can be sure of what has changed. There will be no problem with the move. I end up staying longer than I should so they are comfortable with everything we will do on moving day.

My last estimate of the day is on Long Beach Island. They are selling the house and moving inland and then to Florida. The house has been in the family for quite awhile and there are some mixed felling about the move. The taxes are getting beyond what they can afford, but they love the place.

Faith can move mountains, for everything else there is BD Movers! ™

Leave a Reply

