BDMovers’s Blog


Boston College Move – Money Saved?

Posted in Interstate moving,Moving by bdmovers on September 3, 2010
Tags: , , , ,

We recently did a move for a college graduate now going to grad school, my daughter, and I planned to stay the weekend helping and enjoying Boston with her and my family. The move started in NJ and ended at an apartment building in the center of a gazillion colleges. The streets were filled with PODS, UHauls, Pickup and trailers, and of course , moving vans. On any given street there may have been 4 or 5 people moving in.

College movers, BD Movers

Happy Grad students with BD Movers on Moving day

My observations:

All the movers showed up with dollies and handtrucks. They were done in 1 to 2 hours. I noticed Flat Rate Movers appeared to be very professional

The UHauls usually had young student types moving the furniture. They used no equipment, no blankets and seemed to be there all day.

The other UHaulers were obviously moving companies that had hired extra trucks and men to handle the busy weekend. In general I was not impressed. They had some equipment but did not use it properly. One crew had a strong alcohol smell as I walked by. I did see one crew that was excellent, and made quick work of their job. (if they had worn their moving shirts or signed the truck I would have given them a link here)

The Pickup people were very harried. They were doubled parked on the road, the loading process was time-consuming and rarely did I see anyone tying off the load. It looked like damages were most likely. Multiple trips were obviously being made.

The PODS were there all weekend, slowly being filled. Again I noticed no equipment , blankets or any effort to tie things securely to the walls.

If I had to guess the return on investment for the moving clients, I think a good mover would be the best choice. I  don’t know how you value your time, but a few hours vs all day. Little or no damage vs splinters. Smiling faces vs scowls.

By the way, my daughter was moved into the 5th floor of her apartment in about 1.5 hours. The rest of the day we helped hang pictures, curtains and unpack. That evening we enjoyed a great Italian restaurant. The next day we bought a few things for the apartment and had the whole day to walk around site seeing (the Public Gardens are amazing) We finished the evening at a small restaurant in Beacon Hill. On Sunday my wife and I had breakfast with our daughter before we left.

Just asking – Is that how your last college move went?

Faith can move mountains, for everything else there is BD Movers!(tm)

Leave a Reply

